Review of the, A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Mass.

 

A court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass.

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

I fought of the urge to read this series gallantly for around a year until I succumbed two weeks ago and I am I so glad that I did.

I read the trilogy in a little over a week and two of them are huge door wedges of books so it’s impressive.

Never have I read a book series where my initial feelings have been so unbelievably altered a few chapters later; where I leave a series out of breath, desperate for more and feeling deflated at the same time. This is what Sarah J. Mass did to me and she has soared ahead of all of my favourite authors and latched herself to the top spot. Thank you, Sarah J. Mass for being so awesome.

I’m reviewing the trilogy here because I read them in quick succession of each other I have a hard time deciding where one ended and another began.

The series begins with A court of Thorns and Roses #ACOTAR and we meet Feyre a somewhat down trodden, put upon teen. She’s underappreciated and if it weren’t for her, her whole family would be dead. Without spoilering the hell out of this she ends up in a manor house the prisoner of/guest to Tamlin, high lord of the spring court. Tamlin is Fae which means he has pointed ears and magical gifts and he’s also super-hot except his face is always covered in a masquerade mask. This story takes on a bit of a beauty and the beast theme which I adored and their love story is beautiful and it has just the right amount of tension. He’s protective and loving but then things fall apart and Feyre finds herself on an epic quest to rescue him.

Then we move on to A court of Mist and Fury #ACOMAF and personally this was my favourite book of the entire series. This book took on a completely different vibe for me. Sarah J. Mass upped her descriptive genius. Characters I loved; I now despised. Characters I hated; I now adored and began obsessing over and friendship dynamics emerged. It was awesome and then, well…there was chapter 55. OH. MY. Is all I can say on this.

I was on a complete high when I opened A court of Wings and Ruin #ACOWAR I expected so so much. The book was NOT a bad book and I still adored it, however, ACOMAF set the bar far too high and I left ACOWAR feeling a little deflated. I wanted more. I wanted heartbreak. I wanted epic. Poor Tamlin. I wanted more closure.

Things I didn’t like:

None of these things took anything away from the story for me, however, the over use of certain phrases and words, such as:

‘vulgar gesture’

‘atop’

‘or no’ drove me insane.   I get that the story was written in first person (Thank god it was #Chapter 55 *wink wink*) and everyone has those phrases that they overuse but it kept pulling me from the story.

The smut. Ok, I’m not a prude in any way and I enjoy the odd smutty scene from time to time but Chapter 55 was enough, I feel like a third of the story could have been cut out by just closing the curtains or whatever.

Things I loved:

Character development

Plot twists

Villains

Immersive writing style

World building

I really did love this series and I’ll be buying all of Sarah J. Mass’s works and every available item of merchandise. If you haven’t read it yet, I strongly recommend that you do.

*The book marks and stickers in the images are from @fangirl_fantasy_book and I made the cup myself with sharpie.acotar

Leave a Reply

